Die schweigsame Frau (The Silent Woman)

Richard Strauss: Die schweigsame Frau. D. Liger, S. Humes, F. Hawlata, T. Spence, D. Damrau Richard Strauss: Die schweigsame Frau. Franz Hawlata (Morosus) Richard Strauss: Die schweigsame Frau. Diana Damrau (Aminta), Franz Hawlata (Morosus)
Richard Strauss
Stefan Zweig after Epicoene or The silent woman (1609) by Ben Jonson

Komische Oper in drei Aufzügen
Cantankerous outbursts and unpredictable temper tantrums are everyday events in the life of the well-to-do Sir Morosus, who reacts with enormous hypersensitivity to all kinds of sounds and noises, be they bell ringing or the music of an opera troupe ushered in by the unexpected return of his long-lost nephew Henry. He almost beats his housekeeper to death and disinherits Henry for devoting his life to this noisy art form, but the cunning barber and the other members of the troupe cook up a perfidious little farce about an allegedly silent woman for Morosus to marry, but the relationship turns into a nightmare.

In his first opera after the death of Hugo von Hofmannsthal, Richard Strauss composed the music to Stefan Zweig’s adaptation of The Silent Woman by Ben Jonson, regarding this work as his only comic opera.

In German with German surtitles

supported by

Musikalische Leitung Pedro Halffter
Inszenierung Barrie Kosky
Bühne und Kostüme Esther Bialas
Licht Benedikt Zehm
Dramaturgie Olaf A. Schmitt.
Chöre Sören Eckhoff

Sir Morosus Franz Hawlata
Haushälterin Okka von der Damerau
Der Barbier Nikolay Borchev
Henry Morosus Daniel Behle (25.09.2014, 28.09.2014, 02.10.2014, 05.10.2014, 11.10.2014)
Toby Spence (05.07.2015, 09.07.2015)
Aminta Brenda Rae
Isotta Elsa Benoit
Carlotta Tara Erraught
Morbio Christian Rieger
Vanuzzi Christoph Stephinger
Farfallo Tareq Nazmi

Bayerisches Staatsorchester
The Chorus of Bayerische Staatsoper